Daily Archives: December 28, 2011

Books read in 2011

At the end of each year, I like to reflect upon a list of the titles that I consumed over the past 365 days.  And, every year, this required me trying to pull the titles from memory, which was always a daunting task.  In the past, I’ve attempted – and failed – to keep a running “book diary”, which always seemed like an incredibly awesome idea.  But then I’d finish a book, forgot to update it, remember that I forgot to update the diary while driving somewhere in the car, then make a mental note to update ASAP, but forgot once I got home and then five books later I’m wracking my brain for what I read a few months ago… and then I write horrible run-on, never-ending sentences about my failure as a bibliophile.

Now, thank God, I have GoodReads.com on my computer and the GoodReads.com App on my iPod.  I set a goal to read 40 books in 2011 (another awesome feature of this site) and, happily, exceeded that goal (so far) by 1.  Another reason that I love GoodReads.com (as well as seeing people’s “read in ‘x’ year lists) are for all of the wonderful new reading recommendations!

In no particular order, I’m listing out the 41 books that I read in 2011 + 1 that I have started.  If there is a link, that means that I’ve posted previously on this Blog about that title.

  1. Rules for Virgins by Amy Tan
  2. The Hunger Games (Book #1) by Suzanne Collins
  3. The Hunger Games (Book #2) – Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  4. The Hunger Games (Book #3) – The Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  5. World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks
  6. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
  7. Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs
  8. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  9. The Accident by Elise Wiesel
  10. Dawn by Elie Wiesel
  11. Night by Elie Wiesel
  12. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgeson Burnett
  13. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  14. Zombie by Joyce Carol Oates
  15. The Sinner (Rizzoli & Isles #3) by Tess Gerritsen
  16. The Apprentice (Rizzoli & Isles #2) by Tess Gerritsen
  17. The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles #1) by Tess Gerritsen
  18. Mildred Pierce by James M. Cain
  19. The Vampire Lestat (Vampire Chronicles #2) by Anne Rice
  20. The Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles #1) by Anne Rice
  21. Imperial Bedrooms by Bret Easton Ellis
  22. Glamorama by Bret Easton Ellis
  23. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  24. Sourland (Short Stories) by Joyce Carol Oates
  25. Some Girls: My Life in a Harem by Jillian Lauren
  26. Fury: a Memoir by Koren Zailckas
  27. God is Love (Deus Caritas Est) by Pope Benedict XVI
  28. Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff
  29. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford
  30. The Dhammapada
  31. The Transformation of Suffering by Khenpo Konchok Gyaltshen Rinpoche
  32. Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis
  33. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  34. Catholicism of Dummies by John Triglio Jr.
  35. In Search of the Stainless Ambrosia by Khenpo Konchog Gyaltshen
  36. Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates
  37. Never Let Me God by Kazuo Ishiguro
  38. No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July
  39. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  40. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  41. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
  42. Currently Reading: Across Many Mountains: A Tibetan Family’s Epic Journey from Oppression to Freedom by Yangzom Brauen
What did you read this year?  If you have a list somewhere, please feel free to leave a link in the comments.  I’d love to see!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2011, Books