Daily Archives: November 8, 2011

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Title:  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Authors:  Annie Barrows & Mary Ann Shaffer
Length:  290 pages
Loved it!

Growing up, I read non-stop.  I loved to read and looked forward to the books that were assigned for class, summer reading, and then the periods where I had no obligations and could read whatever I wanted.  After college, however, I began to get a little wrapped up in “being an adult” and my reading hobby suffered for a while.  Luckily, though, this all changed in the not-so-distant past.

The book that I can credit with getting me back into the groove was recommended to me by a good friend.  The book is The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society written by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.  The story unfolds through a series of letters written between the main character, Juliet Ashton, and the residents of the small island of Guernsey.  This is a book that can easily make a reader both laugh and cry and inspires one to just keep on reading. Set around the time of WWII, there are plenty of examples of the characters’ strength and courage.

I couldn’t put this one down and looked forward to my free moments throughout the day so that I could dive back into it.

Buy it on Amazon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Favorites, Historical Fiction