Daily Archives: November 18, 2011

Fun with words Friday! Bibliphage

Yesterday’s Dictionary.com Word of the Day was too good to not snag it for today’s post….

bibliophage – noun

  1. an ardent reader; a bookworm

Buy your own bookworm on Amazon.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Definitions, Friday Word

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds in Boston

As an eleven year-old girl, I first fell in love with Oasis.  Well, at first, I decided that I hated them solely based off the fact that some girl that I didn’t like enjoyed their music.  A few weeks later, however, I heard one of their songs on the radio and was immediately hooked.  Throughout my teenage years, I obsessed over them – accumulating every release, memorizing the lyrics to all of their songs, going to all of their concerts when they came to Boston, and spending way too much money on British music magazines so that I could stay in the loop even long after the radios stopped playing anything other than Wonderwall or, occasionally, Champagne Supernova.

As you can imagine, I was rather upset when they called it quits.  I resigned myself to the fact that I would never hear Oasis perform live again.  I hoped that maybe the break was temporary or that someone would release some solo music soon.  The latter turned out to be the reality.  And, I will say, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds CD is beyond worth the wait.  On top of the awesomeness of the CD (released in America on November 8th, a short tour was planned.  Great news for me — Boston was a stop on the tour!

Needless to say, I purchased our tickets the morning that they went on sale and wound up landing some incredible seats.  The set was flawless, mixing in some Oasis classics with his newer music.  I was blown away by the strength and clarity of his vocals and, yes, I sang along to every single song.  I nearly lost it when, like in the olden days, Noel performed a mini acoustic set (well, acoustic accompanied by a keyboard and a tambourine).  The show was absolutely everything that I love in a concert and I cannot wait for the next time he comes around!

The Setlist:

  1. (It’s Good ) To Be Free  *Oasis
  2. Mucky Fingers  *Oasis
  3. Everybody’s On the Run
  4. Dream On
  5. If I Had a Gun…
  6. Wonderwall  *Oasis & Acoustic
  7. Supersonic  *Oasis & Acoustic
  8. (I Wanna Live in a Dream) In My Record Machine
  9. AKA… What a Life!
  10. Solder Boys and Jesus Freaks
  11. Talk Tonight   *Oasis
  12. AKA… Broken Arrow
  13. Half the World Away   *Oasis
  14. (Stranded On) The Wrong Beach

Encore:

  1. Little by Little  *Oasis
  2. The Importance of Being Idle  *Oasis
  3. Don’t Look Back in Anger   *Oasis

One of my favorite take-aways from a live show, besides the overall experience, energy, and memories, are the opening bands.  The opening band for this show was spectacular!  The Hours blew me away – they sounded very tight, extremely polished, and incredibly unique.  Thanks to Facebook, I have their set list to share with you, as well…  all of these songs are amazing!

  1. I Want More
  2. Narcissus Road
  3. I Wanna Be Happy
  4. Soul Music for Troubled Souls
  5. Ali in the Jungle
  6. People Say
  7. Murder or Suicide

Check out their official website for more information on their music, releases, and upcoming shows!

To share the magic of the night, please enjoy the below video of his acoustic performance of Supersonic, one of my all-time Oasis favorites:

Leave a comment

Filed under Favorites, Music, Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds, Non Sequitur Thursday